On February 27, the Land Trust Accreditation Commission announced that Wildlands Conservancy is among 12 land trusts across the U.S. to achieve first-time accreditation, while the Land Conservancy of Adams County and Westmoreland Conservancy were among the 29 land trusts that achieved renewed accreditation. Nationwide, more than 420 land trusts have now earned the national accreditation mark of distinction. There are accredited land trusts in 46 states and one U.S. territory, and accredited groups protect more land for the benefit of their communities than the size of Denali, Yellowstone, Grand Canyon, Glacier, Everglades, and Yosemite national parks combined.

“Passing the 420 mark for accredited land trusts is significant,” said Tammara Van Ryn, executive director of the Commission. “There are now more accredited land trusts than there are national parks, monuments, and historic sites. By earning this distinction, these land trusts have proven they can effectively steward the nearly 20 million acres of land under their care.

By displaying the accreditation seal awarded by the Commission, these groups proudly announce they demonstrate sound finances, ethical conduct, responsible governance and lasting stewardship of the lands they protect. The Commission is an independent program of the Land Trust Alliance, a national land conservation organization working to save the places people need and love by strengthening land conservation across America.

The 12 land trusts achieving first-time accreditation now include Adirondack Land Trust (New York), Cardinal Land Conservancy (Ohio), Davidson Lands Conservancy (North Carolina), Friends of Hopewell Valley Open Space (New Jersey), Inland Northwest Land Conservancy (Washington), Keweenaw Land Trust (Michigan), New Canaan Land Trust (Connecticut), Ozark Regional Land Trust (Missouri), Prairie Land Conservancy (Illinois), Sycamore Land Trust (Indiana), The Walthour-Moss Foundation (North Carolina), and Wildlands Conservancy (Pennsylvania).

The 29 land trusts achieving renewed accreditation now include Agricultural Stewardship Association (New York), Arizona Land and Water Trust (Arizona), Aspen Valley Land Trust (Colorado), Bitter Root Land Trust (Montana), Bur Oak Land Trust (Iowa), Estes Valley Land Trust (Colorado), Flathead Land Trust (Montana), Gallatin Valley Land Trust (Montana), Galveston Bay Foundation (Texas), Highlands-Cashiers Land Trust (North Carolina), Kachemak Heritage Land Trust (Alaska), Land Conservancy of Adams County (Pennsylvania), Land Trust of Santa Cruz County (California), Lookout Mountain Conservancy (Tennessee), Lummi Island Heritage Trust (Washington), Mohawk Hudson Land Conservancy (New York), Mohonk Preserve (New York), Nebraska Land Trust (Nebraska), New River Land Trust (Virginia), Nisqually Land Trust (Washington), Northcoast Regional Land Trust (California), Northwoods Land Trust (Wisconsin), Ozaukee Washington Land Trust (Wisconsin), Save the Redwoods League (California), Society for the Protection of New Hampshire Forests (New Hampshire), Solano Land Trust (California), Tar River Land Conservancy (North Carolina), Texas Agricultural Land Trust (Texas), and Westmoreland Conservancy (Pennsylvania).